The Empire Strikes Back

by achuggabug

10 July 2012; 18:24

So the positives of earlier have been seriously outweighed by the recent events of this afternoon. Nick (the guy who picked up our car and is holding it for us) didn’t get the keys back from the guy who built our roofrack, so I don’t have a car, and I can’t leave town to find cheap camping; translation… I’m staying in a hostel tonight and hopefully picking up the car in the morning.

I didn’t get much sleep on the train ride in, but I wasn’t too worried about it since I was going to have a car to drive out and get a full night’s sleep camping. Now that my brain’s not really working right, I’ve been hovering between panic and resignation since I spoke with Nick. I walked out of the train station into a light rain searching for internet. I finally found it in a coffee shop that was actually right above the station, but it took me twenty minutes walking around in the rain to find that out. Wet and exhausted, I barely managed to prioritize my next move.

Only the pain in my arm kept me straigh, and I realized what I needed to do most was find a place to put down that fifty pound bag I was toting around. I searched up some cheap hostels and found Hatter’s Hostel a few blocks away from the station. Right now, I’m sitting in the basement letting the drone of the television bring back some sense of normalcy.

Ultimately, I don’t think the afternoon would have been so horrible had I been working with more sleep or had a teammate with me, but after that flight and being the first one over, it feels like the last two hours have lasted days. My memory of them is a bit of a haze, like it all happened last week when I wasn’t paying close attention. It’ll be interesting to see how much of it I retain tomorrow and how much of it’s lost to me.

It’s getting progressively harder to get words down, but, since it’s only 6:30 here, I need to keep up a bit more so that I sleep through the night. On the bright side, there’s breakfast here in the morning, so that’ll help save a bit.

